Category «tech»

tech

BlackBerry tries again

 Remember when Research in Motion’s BlackBerry smartphones set the bar? My first smartphone was a BlackBerry 7130e. I loved the phone. And then my son gave it a bath in a ginger ail. The 7130e had it all: A scroll wheel, Java apps, a keyboard and a swappable battery that would last for days. That …

Watch LG unveils the G6 live right here

 LG’s press conference at MWC in Barcelona is today. The conference starts at 12 PM CET (11 AM GMT, 6 AM EST). Rumor has it that LG is about to announce a new flagship phone, the LG G6. This time, it won’t be a modular phone. It’s going to be a regular phone, but with …

Do you plan to buy the BlackBerry KEYone?

Earlier today at MWC 2017, BlackBerry resurrected the QWERTY keyboard with the KEYone – an unusual Android smartphone built by TCL, BlackBerry’s new hardware partner. Initially known as BlackBerry Mercury, the KEYone runs Android 7.1 Nougat reinforced with BlackBerry-specific security. The phone’s front is dominated by its 4.5-inch display with 1080 x 1620 pixels and …

Who is this random guy Fox News had on to talk about Swedish security?

A trans-Atlantic wave of puzzlement is rippling across Sweden for the second time in a week, after a prominent Fox News program featured a “Swedish defense and national security advisor” who’s unknown to the country’s military and foreign-affairs officials. Swedes, and some Americans, have been wondering about representations of the Nordic nation in the U.Ssince …

Snap supporters find a scapegoat in Jeremy Liew

 A couple of days ago, the New York Times wrote a story that aims to explain why Snap founders Evan Spiegel and Bobby Murphy have retained such a hold on voting power in the company — power that its shareholders will not enjoy. It’s a great account and wonderfully written by a reporter I respect greatly. But I don’t …